Exploring the Galapagos Islands: A Unique Ecosystem

Where are the Galápagos islands located?

The Galápagos islands are located in which continent?


The Galápagos islands are not part of Oceania and are instead part of South America, specifically Ecuador.

The Galápagos islands, officially known as the Archipiélago de Colón, are a group of volcanic islands located in the Pacific Ocean. They are situated 563 miles west of the coast of Ecuador, in South America. The archipelago consists of 19 main islands and a number of smaller islets, each with its own unique ecosystem and biodiversity.

The Galápagos islands are renowned for their significant contribution to the theory of evolution by natural selection, as they inspired Charles Darwin's theory of evolution during his visit in 1835. The islands are home to various endemic species, such as the Galápagos giant tortoise, marine iguana, and the blue-footed booby.

Due to their importance in terms of biodiversity and conservation, the Galápagos islands were declared a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1978. The Ecuadorian government has implemented strict regulations to protect the islands and their wildlife, including limits on tourism and invasive species control.

← The age of discovery exploring the atlantic trade routes Daylight hours in the southern hemisphere in june →